Gerry Chapman was chosen by Business North Carolina as the top Tar Heel immigration lawyer in the state for its 2019 Legal Elite list.

From Business North Carolina:

Since 2002, Business North Carolina magazine has honored Tar Heel lawyers by publishing Business North Carolina’s Legal Elite, a listing of the state’s top lawyers in business-related categories. Winners are chosen not by BNC editors but by the state’s lawyers. Business North Carolina’s Legal Elite has become the model for other awards and lists, but it remains unique as the only award that gives every active lawyer in the state the opportunity to participate. Business North Carolina’s Legal Elite includes the top lawyers chosen using this statewide ballot.

Each year, BNC sends ballot notices to every member of the N.C. State Bar living in North Carolina — asking each a simple question: Of the Tar Heel lawyers whose work you have observed firsthand, whom would you rate among the current best in these categories? Voters are not allowed to vote for themselves. They may select members of their firms only if they pick out-of-firm lawyers in the same categories, with the latter votes weighted more heavily. The top vote-getter in each category becomes a member of Business North Carolina’s Legal Elite Hall of Fame and is ineligible to win again.



Gerard M. “Gerry” Chapman, Chapman Law Firm, Greensboro; Cynthia Aziz, Aziz Law Firm PA, Charlotte;Murali Bashyam, Bashyam Spiro LLP, Raleigh; Penni P. Bradshaw, Constangy, Brooks, Smith & Prophete LLP, Winston-Salem; Laura Deddish Burton, Fox Rothschild LLP, Greensboro; Damjan P. Denoble, Denoble Law PLLC, Durham; Gigi Gardner, Gardner Law PLLC, Raleigh; Steven H. Garfinkel, Steven H. Garfinkel PA, Charlotte; Lindsey Taylor Goehring, The Law Office of Goehring & Strang PLLC, Charlotte; Vanessa A. Gonzalez, The Law Office of Vanessa A. Gonzalez PLLC, Wilmington; Alan S. Gordon, Law Offices of Alan S. Gordon, Charlotte; Rebekah G. Grafton, Fay & Grafton PLLC, Raleigh; Jordan Forsythe Greer, The Cauley Forsythe Law Group PLLC, Charlotte; Carnell T. Johnson, Johnson & Nicholson PLLC, Charlotte; David Joseph Long, Long & Chang LLP, Jamestown; Jeremy L. McKinney, McKinney Law PLLC, Greensboro; George N. Miller, Dozier, Miller, Pollard & Murphy LLP, Charlotte; Jennifer G. Parser, Poyner Spruill LLP, Raleigh;Helen Parsonage, Elliot Morgan Parsonage PLLC, Winston-Salem; John L. “Jack” Pinnix, Allen & Pinnix PA, Raleigh; Julie C. Spahn, Spahn Law Firm PLLC, Charlotte; Helen L. Tarokic, Helen Tarokic Law PLLC, Wilmington; Douglas B. “Doug” Thie, Clawson & Staubes PLLC, Charlotte; Jessica L. Yañez, Yañez Law PLLC, Greensboro

The list of winners can also be found on the Business North Carolina Facebook page.